The winners of the 2018 Metrohm Young Chemist Award (Benelux) are…
18/10/2018 16:02

2018 is a very special year for Metrohm – this is our 75 year jubilee! The company has grown significantly since it was founded in 1943 by Bertold Suhner in Switzerland, and today we are present in more than 80 countries with our own subsidiaries and exclusive distributors. To celebrate, one of our scientific editors has been travelling on a world tour to put the spotlight on the people who shape the face of Metrohm through our blog. Besides holding special events worldwide, both for our customers and our employees, we have also introduced the Metrohm Young Chemist Award (MYCA) in every country where Metrohm is present with a local subsidiary.

MYCA Benelux

Why a MYCA?

Metrohm values the spirit of innovation and believes in the value of novel research performed by pioneering young scientists. Undergraduates to doctorate students were encouraged to apply and submit abstracts of their original work in order to have a chance at winning a cash prize. The first prize winner of the MYCA in each country is also automatically entered in the 2018 International Metrohm Young Chemist Award. Out of these finalists, the three most outstanding applicants will be picked and invited by Metrohm International Headquarters to come visit in Switzerland – all expenses paid.

The awards ceremony

The ceremony for the MYCA Benelux winners was held on Wednesday, October 3 at the World of Technology and Science exhibition (WOTS) in Utrecht, NL, and was hosted by the Royal Netherlands Chemical Society (KNCV). The Benelux region is home to four different Metrohm subsidiaries – Metrohm Nederland, Metrohm Autolab (Utrecht, NL), Metrohm Applikon (Schiedam, NL), and Metrohm Belgium – which all helped in picking a winner. Out of 12 applicants, two were chosen to receive cash prizes since the decision was so difficult for a single award! The winners were introduced by Metrohm Applikon CEO Timoer Frelink, and each of them gave a brief presentation about their research to the audience.

  • 2nd prize winner - Liselotte Neven (University of Antwerp)
  • 1st prize winner - Dilu George Mathew (University of Twente)
Read full article on LinkedIn